View All Articles
Press, Recognition October 4, 2019

Baltimore Teacher Network Names BDS Teacher – Krystal Brown as 2019 Champion of Education Honoree

BDS Teacher Krystal Brown’s committment to teaching the whole child earns well-deserved recognition.

Each year the Baltimore Teacher Network (BTN) celebrates Champions of Education at their annual Beacon of Light Awards Gala. We are excited to note that this year, BDS math teacher Krystal Brown has been selected as the Champion of Education Honoree. Ms. Brown was recognized for her years of service in education and dedication to her students at the Baltimore Design School.

“This award is confirmation that the way I love and support my students is working towards their success. It’s not always easy when faced with the challenges of the education system today. This recognition just makes me feel like I’m getting something right, helping my students grow not just academically, but personally.”

Ms. Brown has been teaching for eleven years, with three of those years invested in the Baltimore Design School. When asked what impact this award had on  her future, she reflected:

“I’ve never been someone who does something for an award or attention. I like to be appreciated, but I don’t need a spotlight. This recognition however has inspired me to focus on what I can do outside of the school to support education beyond the classroom. I have to take the initiative to be a change agent on a bigger stage, advocating for students inside the classroom from the outside. This spotlight makes that possible.”

Dr. Freeman Hrabowski, President ot UMBC will deliver the keynote address at the celebration on Wednesday, October 30, 2019. The distinguished list of Beacon of Light award recipients include; Congressman Elijah Cummings, Baltimore States Attorney Marilyn Mosby, Dr. Nancy Grasmick (former Maryland States Department of Education Superintendent ), Dr. Earl Richardson (President Emeritus Morgan State University), Former Mayor Catherine E. Pugh, Councilwoman Mary Pat Clark, Mayor Bernard ‘Jack’ C. Young, and Ben Jealous (President Emeritus of the National NAACP) just to name a few.

Presenting at the awards gala will be Mayor Bernard C. “Jack” Young, Dr. Sonja Santelelises – CEO of Baltimore City Public Schools and Zaharah Valentine – Principal of the Baltimore Design School.